Analysis of the Second Movement with Yuri Bashmet

Yuri Bashmet Lesson time: (21min 18sec)

In this viola lesson, Yuri Bashmet analyzes the performance of the Second Movement (Allegretto) from Shostakovitch's Sonata for Viola and Piano Op.147.

About the instructor


Through his virtuosity, strength of personality and high intelligence, Yuri Bashmet has given the viola a new prominence in musical life. The pre-eminent viola player of the modern age, he has motivated the leading composers of our time to expand the repertoire with significant new music. He is Artistic Director of the December Evenings festival in Moscow, Principal Conductor of the Symphony Orchestra of New Russia, and is the founder / director of Moscow...  read more

Explore the course

What's included?

6 lessons (2h 3m) Advanced video features Mobile, tablet & desktop access 100% satisfaction guarantee
Error message

Payment successful

Thank you for joining the MusicGurus community.

You can start using your subscription right away. Next step, you will be taken to your dashboard so you can start adding courses.