Sibelius - Violin Concerto in D Minor Op 47

with Maxim Vengerov

Unlock access to full library
Intermediate 2 lessons (0h 52m)

Maxim Vengerov is recognised as one of the world's most exciting and brilliant violinists. His exceptional talent emerged when he was very young. He gave his first recital at the age of five and went on to win First Prize in the Junior Wieniawski Competition when he was ten years old, confirming his promise as a violinist of rare talent. Still in his mid-thirties he is now acknowledged throughout the world as one of the great musicians of our time.

He is also an outstanding teacher and is Professor of Violin at the Royal Academy of Music in London. Perceptive, entertaining and always sensitive to the individual personality and ability of his pupils, he has an extraordinary ability to convey his insights into the music and inspire his students.

With his student, Eloisa-Fleur Thom, Maxim Vengerov explores the Violin concerto in D Minor, Op. 47's first movement, by Finnish composer Jean Sibelius. Completed in 1905, this concerto is the composer's only concerto. It's also his most performed work, probably due to the subtle balance between the solo violin part and the one of the orchestra.

In partnership with The Masterclass Media Foundation Archives, which provides a valuable educational resource in order to perpetuate musical passion and knowledge from one generation to another. [MMF012]

What's included?

2 lessons (0h 52m) Advanced video features Mobile, tablet & desktop access 100% satisfaction guarantee