Taking it to the black keys

Pro Corda Lesson time: (2min 30sec)

Now try the same with the black keys, which provide a different sound world in which to explore. For interest the soundworld that black keys conjure is called the pentatonic mode, a five note scale.

About the instructor


Pro Corda Trust is a music and educational charity established in 1969 founded by Pamela Spofforth MBE and Elizabeth Hewlins MBE and its purpose is ‘to provide for and conduct the education of young persons and others in the whole art, philosophy and theory of music, particularly chamber music’. Pro Corda is the largest music organisation of its kind and is recognised as the UK’s centre of excellence for ensemble training.

 read more

Explore the course

What's included?

21 lessons (1h 8m) Advanced video features Bonus audio content Mobile, tablet & desktop access 100% satisfaction guarantee